Southampton make Premier League history with victory over Liverpool

This post contains affiliate links. “As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.”

Southampton made Premier League history on Monday as they became the first team to beat all seven of the competition’s winners on the season after they lifted the crown.

Ralph Hasenhuttl’s men defeated Liverpool 1-0 at St Mary’s, prevailing in the match for the first time since 2016 thanks to Danny Ings’ second-minute ball against their former club.

Southampton have now beaten Liverpool, Manchester United, Manchester City, Blackburn Rovers, Leicester City, Chelsea and Arsenal in the campaign following a title win.

Here’s a look at the matches that make up that race.

Blackburn rovers

Southampton sold Alan Shearer to Blackburn in 1992, and three years later the English forward led the Rovers to their first and only Premier League title. In the following season, Blackburn finished seventh, while Southampton avoided relegation on goal difference.

They claimed three crucial points in that battle of survival on April 6, 1996, with a Matt Le Tissier penalty in the 80th minute sealing a 1-0 victory over Blackburn at The Dell.

United manchester

Southampton sensationally beat defending champion United 6-3 on October 26, 1996, with Eyal Berkovic and Egil Ostenstad scoring two goals while the fickle Le Tissier starred once again.

They also defeated United who defended the title in 1997-98, 2000-01 and 2003-04.


The Gunners were the best in 2001-02, but took off at St Mary’s in November of the following season, with James Beattie scoring twice and Kolo Toure’s own goal making the game 3-2 in Southampton’s favor.

Manchester city

Early in Mauricio Pochettino’s tenure, Southampton defeated defending champion City at St Mary’s 3-1 in February 2013.

Their victory included a rather sensational own goal from Gareth Barry, who drove an unseen shot into the bottom right corner of City’s net to cap the victory. They beat City last season, winning 1-0 in July, although Liverpool had already deposed Pep Guardiola’s team at the time.


Southampton went down when Chelsea won their first Premier League title with José Mourinho, losing both of their games to the Blues on the way down.

However, they beat Chelsea in October 2015, with Steven Davis, Sadio Mane and Graziano Pele doing the damage in a 3-1 win as Mourinho’s second period in command at Stamford Bridge rushed to a premature conclusion.

Leicester city

The Foxes achieved remarkable success in the Premier League in 2015-16, but were beaten 3-0 at St Mary’s in January 2017.

James Ward-Prowse, Jay Rodriguez and Dusan Tadic got it right in what was Southampton’s biggest home win in the Premier League since a 4-1 win against Crystal Palace on the final day of the previous season.


History was made as, despite Liverpool having 16 attempts, albeit only one on target, Southampton held on to claim a well-deserved and hard-fought victory.

The result left Hasenhuttl in tears full time and also placed the Saints within four points of the Premier League leaders.

Source link

%d bloggers like this: