Seoposenwe’s double inspires Sporting Braga to the first Portuguese Cup title

This post contains affiliate links. “As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.”

The South African was in the double when the Gverreiras silenced SL Benfica for their first Cup victory at the Municipal Stadium of Aveiro

Jermaine Seoposenwe hit a double as Sporting Braga beat SL Benfica 3-1 to win the Women’s Portuguese Cup for the first time.

Before the end of the 2019-20 season, the South African international had played 84 minutes but was unable to prevent Gverreiras from avoiding a 3-0 loss to SL Benfica in the Women’s League Cup final last Wednesday.

On Tuesday, Seoposenwe secured a starting position in the squad of coach Miguel Santos, while Nigerian Christy Ucheibe and Cape Verdean Jolina Amani were left on the bench by SL Benfica.

Hannah Keane, who replaced Cindy Konig on the starting list, opened the scoring with her magnificent shot three minutes after Andreia Norton approached five minutes for Braga.

Benfica, however, gained more possession of the ball and nearly leveled things through Andreia Faria after a build-up led by Matilde Fidalgo, but their effort was deflected by inches in the 19th minute.

After the break, Filipa Patao’s team put more pressure on their opponents and found the crucial tie when Nycole headed in with a precise cross from Ana Seica in the 50th minute.

Braga stepped forward to regain the lead when Seopensowe received a pass from Dolores Silva and went on to fire his side to the front, with a powerful shot from outside the area in the 64th minute.

Despite their slim lead, Braga did not rest on his laurels when Andreia Norton sent a pass to Myra Delgadillo, whose cross was headed by Seoposenwe in the 78th minute to guarantee the victory.

The result means that Sporting Braga is the 2019-20 Portuguese Women’s Cup champion after the triumph over the champion.

In addition to being champions for the first time, they are also the ninth different winner in the women’s tournament since 2003.

Seoposenwe, who celebrated his first major title in the colors of Braga, lasted the duration of the match and has now scored three goals in all competitions this season.

On the other hand, Ucheibe could not savor a minute of the match for Braga, while Amani was a replacement in the 68th minute for Fidalgo.

In their next matches, Braga will host Clube Condeixa on January 24, while SL Benfica will visit Albergaria on the same day.


Source link

%d bloggers like this: