Revis among 1st year eligible HOF semi-finalists

This post contains affiliate links. “As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.”

CANTON, Ohio — Four-time All-Pro cornerback Darrelle Revis is one of five first-year eligible players among 28 modern day semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2023.

Joining Revis as candidates for induction are offensive linemen Jahri Evans and Joe Thomas, defensive lineman Dwight Freeney and linebacker James Harrison. Each last played in the 2017 season.

Henry Ellard and London Fletcher are semi-finalists for the first time. Albert Lewis, a semi-finalist in 2013, is also on the list. Ellard, who retired after the 1998 season, and Lewis, who also retired in 1998, are in their final years of eligibility as modern day players.

Torry Holt returns for the ninth time, Hines Ward and Darren Woodson are semifinalists for the seventh time, and Ronde Barber makes the list for the sixth time. Zach Thomas is a fifth-timer, and James Willis and Reggie Wayne are back for the fourth time.

Eric Allen, Jared Allen, Willie Anderson, Anquan Boldin, Rodney Harrison, Devin Hester, Andre Johnson, Robert Mathis, Steve Smith Sr., Fred Taylor, DeMarcus Ware, Ricky Watters and Vince Wilfork complete the roster.

The 28 semi-finalists will be whittled down to 15 finalists before the final voting process in January. The inductees will be announced Feb. 9 during the NFL Honors prime-time awards show, when The Associated Press reveals its individual award winners for the 2022 NFL season, including the year’s most valuable player and coach.

Four previously announced finalists are Don Coryell in the coaching category and Chuck Howley, Joe Klecko and Ken Riley in the senior category.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *