Mbappé joins exclusive 10-man club with hat-trick at Barça

This post contains affiliate links. “As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.”

Kylian Mbappé became the Tenth player to score a competitive hat-trick on the road against Barcelona on Tuesday.

The World Cup winner scored a sensational treble as Paris Saint-Germain took command of their Champions League round of 16 tie with a 4-1 away win in the first leg.

Mbappé’s clever close-range shot nullified Lionel Messi’s first penalty, before stepping in after halftime to give PSG the lead for the first time.

Moise Kean added to that lead before a sublime fourth breakaway saw Mbappé sweep an impressive shot into the upper right corner.

The French forward is the first visiting player to score three goals at the Camp Nou since Diego Forlán’s hat-trick with Villarreal in 2005.

That effort by Forlán was the first of the 21st century, the previous being the just another Champions triplet besides Mbappé’s, when Andriy Shevchenko led a remarkable 4-0 away win for Dynamo Kiev in 1997.

However, not all visiting team hat-tricks at Barça have resulted in such dominant displays.

Forlán could only secure a 3-3 draw, with three of the 10 triples that come in games that ended all squares.

Spirit two three-goal stars ended up on the losing side, including poor Milinko Pantic in an epic King’s Cup months before Shevchenko stole the show.

Pantic scored four goals for Atlético de Madrid, but improbably they fell 5-4 to Bobby Robson’s Blaugrana.

The only other instance of a visiting player network four arrived in the previous home of Les Corts del Barça when Julian Arcas did in a draw with Espanyol in 1956.

Two of the 10 hat-tricks arrived at Les Corts, the other eight were all at the Camp Nou – since Barça also beat Valencia 4-3 in 1948 despite Vicente Segui’s treble.

Complete list of hat-tricks at home against Barcelona:

Vicente Segui (Valencia) – Defeat 4-3 at Les Corts in 1948
Julian Arcas (Espanyol) – tie 4-4 at Les Corts in 1956
Tony Kurbos (Metz) – Victory 4-1 at Camp Nou in 1984
Manuel Peña (Valladolid) – Victory 4-2 at Camp Nou in 1987
Baltazar de Morais (Atlético de Madrid) – 3-3 draw at Camp Nou in 1989
Francisco Higuera (Zaragoza) – Victory 5-4 at Camp Nou in 1994
Milinko Pantic (Atlético de Madrid) – Loss 5-4 at Camp Nou in 1997
Andriy Shevchenko (Dynamo Kiev) – 4-0 victory at Camp Nou in 1997
Diego Forlán (Villarreal) – draw 3-3 at Camp Nou in 2005
Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain) – 4-1 win at Camp Nou in 2021

Source link

%d bloggers like this: