I’ll call Messi, tell me when and where! – Guardiola challenges Bayern Munich to a six-fold duel against Barcelona in 2009

This post contains affiliate links. “As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.”

Hansi Flick’s team coincided with the legendary Barça team of the Man City manager when they won their sixth consecutive trophy with the Club World Cup.

Pep Guardiola has challenged Hansi Flick and Bayern Munich to a ‘battle of sextuplets’ after the Bundesliga giants equaled their Barcelona team’s achievement with a sixth consecutive trophy.

Bayern beat Tigres to win the Club World Cup on Thursday, adding their titles from Bundesliga, Champions League, DFB-Pokal, UEFA Super Cup and DFL-Super Cup over the past year.

In doing so, they became the second team to win the sixfold, matching Guardiola’s legendary Barcelona squad in 2009.

What did Guardiola say?

In a video message on Twitter, Guardiola said: “Congratulations to the entire Bayern family for this incredible success, for being Club World Cup champions and above all for winning six titles.

“We are very proud, I am very proud, a big congratulations to everyone, especially Hansi [Flick], the players and the back room staff for this amazing thing.

“But I would like to tell Hansi that you are the second team to win all six titles in a row!

“Before you, there was another team, Barcelona … so maybe I can call Messi and company and we can play for the seventh title? Tell me when and where and we’ll be there! “

Bayern nearly won six times with Guardiola in 2013. After Jupp Heynckes won the treble in 2012-13, Guardiola won the Club World Cup and the UEFA Super Cup in his first season in Bavaria, but lost to Borussia Dortmund in the DFL Super Cup.

Will Bayern 2021 play Barcelona 2009?

While Guardiola had a smile on his face when he challenged his former club, he is still hugely popular at both Barca and Bayern, so he could have the power to drive an exhibition match.

Of course, the 12-year gap between the two sides would put Bayern at a huge advantage on the field.

While they have just been confirmed as world champions, only three players who started Barça’s victory in the 2009 Champions League final, Lionel Messi, Sergio Busquets and Andrés Iniesta, are still playing.

Other readings


Source link

%d bloggers like this: