FIFA Club World Cup 2020 – News – A world first in the new millennium

This post contains affiliate links. “As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.”

  • The first FIFA Club World Cup ever was held in 2000
  • 16 tournaments so far with 10 different winners
  • Club World Cup 2020 takes place from 1 to 11 February

About three weeks, the FIFA Club World Cup 2020 ™ will be held in Qatar. We already know six of the seven contestants and you can see the full list of matches here. The draw to decide the match rings will take place on January 19, 2021 at. 16:00 CET in Zurich, where everyone is eager to find out who will follow Liverpool and lift the most prestigious trophy in the world club.

About 13 months ago, the Reds finished in 2019 with a victory over Rio de Janeiro giants Flamengo to claim the club world championship, but they will not be able to defend their title. Last summer, Bayern Munich won the UEFA Champions League and now have the chance to add another club world championship to their trophy following their success in 2013.

Since the tournament was set up in 2000, European clubs have triumphed on 12 occasions with four South American winners. Which league will come out on top in Qatar as the tournament is being held for the last time in its current format?

New beginning in 2000

The battle for the world club crown did not start until 2000. The FIFA Club World Cup in Brazil was the first international football tournament of the new millennium. It was a brave step to globalize club football and a perfect opportunity to enjoy a unique display of so many highly talented football players at once. Eight clubs from the four corners of the globe set course for the warm climates of Rio de Janeiro and Sao Paulo to the country that many consider to be the beating heart of football.

Among the big names who took part were record winners in the Europa Cup / Champions League, Real Madrid, as well as Manchester United, who had just collected the Champions League trophy. The Premier League team, which had won the treble in the 1998/99 season, even withdrew from defending their FA Cup title to face the best the world had to offer in the country of samba and carnival.

Initial club world championship winners

In the end, it was the two Brazilian teams – Vasco da Gama from Rio and Corinthians from Sao Paulo – who met in the final. And after a tactical match that remained goalless for 120 minutes, it was the Corinthians who won 4-3 on penalties. Prior to the final, they had drawn with Real Madrid and defeated Al Nassr of Saudi Arabia and Raja Casablanca of Morocco in the first round. With their star-studded line-up including Vampeta, Freddy Rincon, Edu, Dida and the unique Edilson – they then drove the final to record a well-deserved victory in front of 73,000 fans at the legendary Maracana Stadium in Rio.

Corinthians players celebrate their victory with the championship board after the FIFA Club World Cup final
© Getty Images

Europe is beginning to take over

Then it took four years before the next tournament was held, in Japan in 2005. And as was the case in the opening edition of the tournament, it was a team from Brazil that took the title, this time Sao Paulo. Twelve months later, the Internacional de Porto Alegre ended the Brazilian treble, but apart from another victory for the Corinthians in 2012, every other name on the trophy has been from Europe.

The record holders are Real Madrid with four wins ahead of their Spanish rival Barcelona at three and Corinthians with two. Seven other teams have also won the title, including Bayern Munich, who are in action again this year. And as for the top scorer in tournament history, it is none other than Cristiano Ronaldo.

Past winners

Results by federation

ConfederationChampionRan upThird placeFourth place

Last year’s final


Source link

%d bloggers like this: