Chelsea’s Mendy reacts after winning Goalkeeper of the Year award

This post contains affiliate links. “As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.”

The manager played a crucial role in helping the Blues win the Uefa Champions League

Chelsea goalkeeper Edouard Mendy has shared his gratitude to teammates and the club as a whole after winning Europe’s Goalkeeper of the Year award.

The Best Midfielders in The Premier...
The Best Midfielders in The Premier League History

The Senegal striker helped the Blues win the Uefa Champions League due to his world-class saves. West Londoners defeated Manchester City with a lone goal of winning the annual competition.

The custodian has now taken his account on social media to appreciate all those who made it possible, while praising his teammates who also won awards in their respective categories.

“I have a very special feeling … I am proud and honored to win this award,” Mendy wrote.

“I want to share it with all my teammates, all the staff, my coach, all the people who work behind the scenes to make the club grow, and with my family.

“Congratulations to Jorginho for winning the award for best player, to N’Golo Kante for being the best midfielder of the season, and congratulations to the coach, Thomas Tuchel, for being selected as the best in his category.

“Now it’s about continuing to work hard, be consistent and win more titles.”

Meanwhile, the Blues have been paired with Serie A heavyweights Juventus, Russian outfit Zenit and Malmö FF in Group H in this season’s Champions League campaign.

The defending champions will aim to match last season’s performance, where they went all the way to the final and eventually won it. Group A has lost finalists Manchester City, who will play PSG, RB Leipzig and Club Brugge.

La Liga champions Atletico Madrid are in Group B with Liverpool, Porto and AC Milan. Another English representative Manchester United is in Group F with Europa League champions Villarreal, Atalanta and Young Boys.

Group A: Manchester City, PSG, RB Leipzig, Club Brugge

Group B: Atletico Madrid, Liverpool, Porto, AC Milan

Group C: Sporting, Borussia Dortmund, Ajax, Besiktas

Group D: Inter, Real Madrid, Shakhtar Donetsk, sheriff

Group: Bayern Munich, Barcelona, ​​Benfica, Dynamo Kiev

Group F: Villarreal, Manchester United, Atalanta, Young Boys

Group G: Lille, Sevilla, Red Bull Salzburg, Wolfsburg

Group H: Chelsea, Juventus, Zenit, Malmö


Source link