Cameroon A ‘v Uganda A’ match report, 01/01/2021, non-FIFA friendly matches

This post contains affiliate links. “As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.”

Cameroon 1-1 Uganda: Cranes fight for a draw in pre-Chan competition

The next assignment for the East African heavyweights will be Zambia, while the Indomitable Lions will face Niger.

Uganda began their pre-African Nations Championship competition with a 1-1 draw with Cameroon at Stade Ahmadou Ahidjo on Friday.

Abouri Basile opened the scoring for the hosts before Milton Karisa tied for the East African heavyweights.

The Indomitable Lions started the game high, as the players who had the opportunity gave their best in hopes of impressing the coaching bench before the Chan competition.

The Cranes collapsed in light of the initial pressure, and Police FC forward Ben Ocen was fired after just 12 minutes. He gave the Central African nation an excellent opportunity to open the scoring a minute later courtesy of Basile.

Uganda coach Johnathan McKinstry needed a tactical change to stop his hosts, who were hungry for more goals.

In the 28th minute, winger Joseph Ssemuju was substituted and his place was taken by Karim Watambala. The change provided much-needed stability for the Cranes.

Despite the chances created by both teams, neither managed to take advantage of them, and the first 45 minutes ended with Indomitable Lions 1-0 up.

The East Africans got off to a better start in the second half, and at some point it was hard to tell they were playing one less man.

Her zeal paid off in the 70th minute when Karisa got the tie.

Things got worse for Cameroon when Basile was sent off late in the game. However, neither of them could get another goal.

Uganda will now focus on the Zambian Chipolopolo in their next match scheduled for Monday and their last match will be played on Thursday.

Uganda team in Cameroon;

Goalkeepers: Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume), Nafian Alionzi (URA) and Tom Ikara (Police).

Defenders: Eric Ssenjobe (Police), Aziz Kayondo (Vipers), Derrick Ndahiro (SC Villa), Paul Willa (Vipers), Ashraf Mandela (URA), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers), Mustafa Mujjuzi (Kyetume), Patrick Mbowa (URA), Murushid Juuko (Express), Muhamood Hassan (Police).

Midfielders: Shafiq Kagimu (URA), Tonny Mawejje (Police), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers), Karim Watambala (Vipers), Saidi Kyeyune (URA), Hassan Ssenyonjo (Wakiso Giants).

Forward: Ben Ocen (Police), Ibrahim Orit (Vipers), Vianne Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants), Joseph Ssemujju (BUL), Joakim Ojera (URA), Milton Karisa (Vipers), Stephen Mukwala (URA), Mohamed Shaban (Vipers) and Ivan Bogere (Proline).

Source link

%d bloggers like this: