Abraham and Pellegrini make up the Conference League team along with five Feyenoord finalists

The Best Midfielders in The Premier...
The Best Midfielders in The Premier League History

This post contains affiliate links. “As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.”

Tammy Abraham has been joined on this season’s Europa Conference League team by Roma team-mate Lorenzo Pellegrini, who was named player of the season.

Roma claimed their first UEFA trophy on Wednesday with a 1-0 win over Feyenoord in the preliminary Conference League final.

Nicolo Zaniolo grabbed the crucial goal for Giallorossi, but his attacking colleagues were preferred in a best XI, which was voted on Friday.

Top scorer Abraham and captain Pellegrini were among four acclaimed Roma players, with goalkeeper Rui Patricio and center-back Chris Smalling also included after inspired performances against Feyenoord.

Italian midfielder Pellegrini won the best individual award, but Feyenoord were also well represented, including this year’s young player for Luis Sinisterra.

Sinisterra recorded 10 goal innings (six goals and four assists) throughout the tournament, second only to teammate and top scorer Cyriel Dessers (11 involutions), whose 10 goals made him the only man to beat Abraham’s number of nine.

Both Feyenoord strikers managed the selection of teams along with defenders Lutsharel Geertruida, Gernot Trauner and Tyrell Malacia.

Dimitri Payet was also included, as well as sealing the season goal for his sweet performance against PAOK in Marseille’s quarter-finals.

Europa Conference League team of the season: Rui Patricio (Roma); Lutsharel Geertruida (Feyenoord), Chris Smalling (Roma), Gernot Trauner (Feyenoord), Tyrell Malacia (Feyenoord); Lorenzo Pellegrini (Roma), Dimitri Payet (Marseille), Kiernan Dewsbury-Hall (Leicester City), Luis Sinisterra (Feyenoord); Cyriel Dessers (Feyenoord), Tammy Abraham (Roma).

Source link